top of page
9 June 2022
Edgbaston Stadium, Birmingham

Organised by:


Sponsored by:

PTV Group

The Masters of Modelling Awards

About the Awards

About the awards

Says Modelling World Chairman, Tom van Vuren (Pictured Right) : 'Outsiders, even transport planning colleagues, often think that we are geeks, a homogeneous mass of introverts that rarely see the world outside, and that we are a necessary evil rather than a particularly valuable or helpful profession.

'I disagree; of course I disagree. That is why I am pleased to award the Master of Modelling title to professional peers; and over time we will build up a cadre of masters of modelling who can be trail-blazers for our profession. We need to surround this with positive publicity, build the reputation of modelling and modellers, shine a light on the excellent work that we, and particularly the winners, do.'


Awards Categories

Master of Modelling 2021

Lifetime Achievement

The Master of Modelling Award is a lifetime achievement award and is open to all modellers who are working, or who have worked, in the UK. It will be awarded to an individual who has:

  • excelled in driving change

  • challenged thinking

  • done the most for 'moving modelling on' during their career


This award will be peer-reviewed and judged by the Modelling World Steering Group and key partners.

Winner in 2017: Luis Willumsen, Director, Willumsen Advisory Services & Kineo Mobility Analytics

Winner in 2018: Sonny Tolofari, Team Manager, Leicestershire County Council

Winner in 2019: Anon Allos, Director, ATKINS

Winner in 2021: Charlene Rohr, Technical Director, Mott MacDonald

The New Master of Modelling Awards: Moving Modelling On

The 'Moving Modelling On' New Master of Modelling Award will recognise a young professional between the age of 20 – 35 who has:

  • shown willingness to challenge thinking and methodologies

  • developed new ways of thinking and driven practitioner thinking forward

  • inspired colleagues and wider industry


Entry criteria

  • Applicants must be a young professional between the age of 20 - 35

  • Applicants must supply details of submitted project in less than 2000 words

  • Supporting evidence can be supplied, including images and video


Winner in 2017: Chris Wroe, Telefonica UK


Winners in 2018: Rebecca Wilson, Systra (Highly Commended: Steven O'Hare, Mott MacDonald)

Joint winners in 2019: Alex Dawn, City Science & Mike Oliver,  PTV Group

Winner in 2021: Chris Storey, Senior Data Analytics and Modelling Officer, Transport for the North

Sponsored by:

PTV Group

Sponsored by:


Contact Daniel Simpson on 020 7091 7861 or email to secure your place or to discuss a bespoke awards sponsorship package.

Award Categories

Entry deadline:
Tuesday 31st May 2022

Please send entries to 

The winners will be announced during the drinks reception at Modelling World 2022, 9 June 2022 at Edgbaston Stadium. Please note that all nominees will need to be in attendance.

Enter Now
Modelling World 2021
bottom of page